You are here

Debbie Jacob

Monday, October 6, 2014
​Reading is supposed to be cool because of all the practical things you can learn for life, but I also enjoy the ah-ha moments. This is when I say, “Ah, that explains everything.”
Sunday, October 5, 2014
I never dreamed about using a non-fiction book like The Secret Life of Sleep by Kat Duff for our Sunday Arts Section (SAS) Book Club choice for the month of October until my friend Annie sent it to me
Monday, September 29, 2014
​The month of September marks the 20th anniversary of one of my favourite films: The Shawshank Redemption, starring Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman.
Saturday, September 27, 2014
Malala says that she was reading the Twilight books by Stephenie Meyer and longing to be a vampire when the Taliban arrived in her village.
Monday, September 22, 2014
I read banned books so it’s no surprise that I support the American Library Association’s (ALA) Banned Book Week every September.
Sunday, September 21, 2014
In many ways, Malala Yousafzai—the girl who would eventually write a book about being shot by the Taliban—seems to have been an ordinary Pakistani teenager.
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
In the kingdom of cloth, the late Jimmy Aboud reigned supreme. This year marked the 65th anniversary of Aboud’s textile business
Monday, September 15, 2014
​Why do some children—and even adults—seem to get a natural kind of high off reading?
Monday, September 8, 2014
Every time I read one of those reports about the Prime Minister being out of the country, I start to fantasise about what I would do if I were named Prime Minister for a day.
Monday, September 1, 2014
I really can’t tell you when last I have seen something more refreshing and more encouraging than the ALS Ice Bucket challenges that are popping up all over the Internet.

Pages