You are here

Mark Wilson

Sunday, December 6, 2015
​Today’s the big day for Venezuela. If all runs smooth, results will be out this evening, and they’ll have a new National Assembly.
Sunday, November 29, 2015
​Jack Warner has his day in court on Wednesday. Again. The US wants him extradited to face 29 money laundering, fraud, conspiracy and other charges. Jack won’t be on any plane come Thursday morning.
Sunday, November 22, 2015
​A week tomorrow, the UN Climate Change Conference opens in Paris. It’s a last-ditch attempt to get a binding global agreement on greenhouse gas emissions. It meets under cloudy skies.
Sunday, November 15, 2015
​This year’s TT Film Festival opened with Sweet Micky for President. It’s a great movie.
Sunday, November 8, 2015
​It looks like election time for Jamaica. Their last poll was on December 29, 2011—sandwiched between Christmas and the Old Year’s.
Sunday, November 1, 2015
​The Belize election next Wednesday looks like an easy third term for prime minister Dean Barrow.
Sunday, October 25, 2015
​“Could be a second Angola,” an ExxonMobil source last week told Upstream magazine. That’s Guyana’s offshore oil discovery.
Sunday, October 18, 2015
​Luckily for Marlon James, he was not in Parliament for the budget debate. He’d have had a sibilant “Marlene,” and a (hijacked) Facebook quip about “buying a bull-it proof vest and pants.”
Sunday, October 11, 2015
​Soon after I first came here, back in the early 1995, a litre of unleaded gas was $2.57. A beer cost $4. And what is now a $5 taxi ride was just $2.
Sunday, October 4, 2015
​If David Cameron wanted to talk business, he’d have come to Trinidad last Wednesday. We’ve got a new government. We’ve got BP and BG.

Pages